Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement is? what measure can governemnt take to discourage people from using their cars.

Traffic jams are extensively debatable in modern era. A number of people consider that having good and well reputed car is a part of their social status. Many people opine that surprisely increase in ownership of car gave birth to many other problems such as environment pollution and traffic jam. In the following paragraphs, I am going to discuss about issues related to car ownerships and methods that government should take to cope up with this problem. Undoubtedly, rapidly surged in number of cars became a major reason for traffic jam. One can easily reach to destination between 10am to 5pm. Because of limited traffic at that time. On the contrary, before 10am and after 5 pm people need to consider double time to reach their goals. Secondly, Some people drive fast to reach working places on time. So, they drive quite fast. Many frequently, they suffer from road accident that lead to blockage of road which make worst circumstances for other. As a results, other people do not have any option other than staying in traffic jam and waiting for road clearance. Government needs to take some measure to cope up this problem. First and foremost, legal authorities need create the awareness of public transportation among the general public. Public transportation such as buses, trains and trams must be easily accessible and cheaper as compare to other private mode of transportations. Government need to make sure to public that there is more buses and trains available in contrast to the demand of people. In addition, car pooling is best alternative. To motivate the public for car pooling government can give some type of incentive such as free car wash, repair service. Furthermore, Government needs to prohibit the entry of cars into cities by building car parking, shopping mall at outskirts of cities. In the cities only public transportation will be authorized. Moreover, higher authorities can impose high rate of tax on automotive ownership. It will demotivate the individuals to buy cars because they have to pay heavy part of their income to government in kind of tax. Putting the conclusion into nutshell, it is purely true that government should take some steps to reduce the traffic problems but people should not forget about the moral value towards environment and society.