digital communication technology such as email instant messaging and social media has improved communication and connections between people with this opinion

Advances in technology have made it easier than ever before to reach and interact with people around the world. However, does this mean that it is also easier to connect and form meaningful relationships with others? In this esay, I will argue that. while digital communication may be easy and convenient, it is no substitute for face to face communication. Compared to the past, it is now easier, cheaper and more convenient to communicate with people, wherever they may be. Technologies such as instant messaging, email have transformed the way in which we communicate with each other. Thirty years ago, getting in touch with someone in a different country was difficult and frequently expensive. Today, I can take my phone out of my pocket and contact people all over the world at the push of a button. While technology may have made it easier for people to communicate, it has not only improved connection and relationships between people in any meaningful way. Email, instant messaging software or social media websites can never replace face to face communication. We rely on body language, facial expressions and others subtle cues to understand others. In a text message or an email, or even with video chat, those signals are lost. Connection between people depends on true communication, and true communication is only possible when people talk face to face. Digital technology has undoubtedly changed how we communicate, and in many ways this is a positive thing. Being able to keep in touch with friends and family in other cities or countries is a great advantage. However, the way in which we connect and formulation ships has not changed substantively, we need face-to-face contact to form meaningful connection with others, and current technology is no substitute for that.