CAN WE RELY ON INFORMATION WE GET EVERYDAY? WHAT DO YOU THINK?

Since the advancement of technology, the society has witnessed an explosion of information to which individuals are granted full access. By having personal computers, smartphones, a few words in Google’s search bar and a click would bring about up-to-date news. As serene as it seems, not all we acquired through such mean is accurate. In my perspective, people should be cautious whether the news is misleading or not. With regard to online data, while a large proportion is considered to be precise, there is still a great deal of deceptive data disseminated throughout the Internet, typically on websites. Due to of the ease of access by computerized devices, it is undoubted that people are able to edit according to their own will, without verification. This can be exemplified by the fact that Wikipedia, favoured by most haphazard students as a source of information, can be altered by anyone to suit their biased opinion. The result of using such raw knowledge for research can cause misconception in a number of people. Likewise, any social media users can post a false report about a matter on their account; were people to be deluded in misinformation, it would render an attempt to recover the truth nerve-racking or even infeasible since any info tends to have a pervasive effect. On the other hand, the risk of exposure to fraud is likely to be higher in correspondence to our belief. For some whose knowledge of online security is limited and indifferent towards the truthfulness of information then they are easier to be swindled. Sinister primarily come from hackers' incentive to seek others personal details from aforementioned users. This, along with the undue trust in unfiltered info negatively affects the credibility of websites that negatively affect the credibility of websites that was presumably reliable. In conclusion, I firmly maintain the idea that it is a crux to process the daily info and we cannot completely depend on what is alluded to. One ought to be a shrewd citizen so as not to fall for the canard.