Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

In this age of modernization, shopping on the internet has become highly prevalent in the society. With the advent of the Internet, people could now purchase goods from the comfort of their home without even thinking of stepping out. Even though there are some deficits of shopping on the internet including poor health and cyber theft. I personally believe that there are more advantages than disadvantages. Buying things on the web is highly convenient. Feature such as door step delivery is one among many favorite attributes of e-commerce. Delivery executive is assigned after successful placement of the order and goods are delivered within 2-3 days to the given address. Amazon Prime, for example, has a special offer for their exclusive prime customers to opt for a one day delivery. Moreover, there is a large option for comparing products that one wants to buy. In other words, people can compare between a range of commodities and can choose the one with the best offer or discount. While purchasing air tickets, for example, people can choose from list of airlines traveling to the desired airport and can compare flights according to airline fare, time duration, and Discount offered. In addition, there is easy cancellation and exchange option available. Individuals can easily cancel any order they are no more interested in. As a result, the physical strain that one experienced for canceling or exchanging goods prior to e-shopping is now reduced drastically. People need to just click a button and the cancellation of the product will be processed and refund would be credited back to the account within 2-3 working days. However, there are some disadvantages as well, which are linked to purchasing things on the internet. There is a decrease in the physical movement, which was previously required in order to acquire goods. In other words, lots of serious health issues are rising due to lack of physical movement. In last month newspaper, I read that the cases of heart attack in mature adults have increased by 7% and one of the reasons for this surge is lack of physical activity. Furthermore, e-shopping is not truly safe. Hackers from across the globe are in search of vulnerability on the internet. Hackers try to insert malicious code in the application and tend to steal information of customers and sometimes money from the customer’s account. In conclusion, there are more advantages of purchasing goods on the internet including home delivery, large options and easy cancellation. E-commerce is here to stay and clearly benefit customers.