Boxing is a blood sport which often results in physical injury. It is inappropriate for this sport to exist in modern age.

Ancient Greece the pioneer of the Olympics included boxing as one of their events and up to now it is still in existence. It is often argued that boxing is a brutal physical sport which often results in serious injuries and should not be practiced today. In my own view, I disagree with the statement, boxing is a good sport and should still be included in major events today. In this essay, I will explain some reasons and give examples. Firstly, boxing falls into the category of contact sports therefore specific measures will be performed before and event. An organized governing body will be encouraged to provide training referees and officials, a licensed medical doctor and a medical team on standby in case of emergency. Moreover, recent laws are more strict with injuries and so the concussion protocol is being implemented in any action sports events. For example, in any fights in Las Vegas, Nevada, the Nevada Athletic Commission will be encouraged and strict measures will be sanctioned. Although boxing is considered a risky sports certain ways are being prepared to avoid any catastrophic injuries. On the other hand, boxing provides opportunities for athletes. Meaning to say it helps and save from poverty. People below poverty line cannot afford to have good education, so they take different paths to become athletes, like in boxing, basketball, football and athletics. One best example is Manny Pacquiao, who used to be a fish vendor, but with his resilience he became World Champion in eight different weight classes. Even the nature of the sport is considered bloody and brutal, it can save lives to passionate and hardworking boxers. In conclusion, boxing should still exist today with recent advancements in health care and precautionary measures the authorities performed. Furthermore, it gives better lives to deserving athletes.