Both government and individuals are spending a large amount of money for protecting animals and their habitat. This money should be better spent dealing with fundamental issues in society such as poverty and health care. To what extent do you agree?

It is often observed that a hefty amount of resources is deployed on protecting animals and their habitats by both states and people. It is argued that such resources could be better spent in tackling other basic problems in society namely poverty and health care. I support this view that instead of allocating resources extensively on preserving animals and their natural environment, it is more sensible to address pressing issues of the society. Many countries around the world are facing an enormous number of problems. One of these problems is poverty. According to the UN report, more than half of the people in the world are living below the poverty line. This means that either they have no-access or limited access to food, water, clothes, or shelter. In such a miserable situation, it seems illogical and insensible that the governments and the people who are better off spend their money on protecting animals and their habitat, while the poor are disenfranchised of basic life necessities. This behaviour creates not only depression and hopelessness in the society, but also compel poor to commit crimes or sometimes suicide. For instance, recently in a slump of Karachi, a disheartened father tried to take his own life, when his children who did not eat anything for days, asked him for food. In contrast, if the government or people used their money to eradicate poverty and hunger, this would have never happened. Moreover, poverty gives birth to several other problems such as pollution, which not only affects our environment, but other species as well. In other words, when people are not able to take care of themselves, how will they be able to take care of their environment? Due to poverty, insufficient sanitary facilities and improper sewerage infrastructure in developing countries, rivers and oceans are polluted to a point that they are no more inhabitable for aquatic biodiversity. For example, a recent survey showed that a variety of fish population has been reduced to almost half in the Indus River, owing to industrial and residential waste being dumped into the river. Therefore, it is crucial to allocate funds for the development of such infrastructures, which not only improves people’s lives, but also saves other species and their habitats. To conclude, while other people’s opinion may vary, in my opinion, the governments and the society should put in ample funding to address fundamental issues such as poverty and its related problems which directly affects people and the environment rather than on the matters that are merely the result of the above factors.