BIOGRAPHIES AND GLOBAL LEADERSHIP

William Henry Gates III was born on October 28, 1955 in Seattle Washington. Because he was the third Gates male to be named William Henry, the family nicknamed him Trey. Everyone else called him Bill. Bill was very active child. Years later in business meetings, Bill was known for rocking back and forth in his chair. He said it helped him think. Bill’s parents were educated and well-to-do William Gates Sr. was a successful lawyer. Mary Gates was a schoolteacher. Smart and outgoing, Mary often took young Bill along with her on volunteer outgoings. The Gateses were a warm and close family. Bill’s sister Kristi was two years old and his sister Libby was nine years younger. Anyone could see that Bill was very smart. For bill, thinking was an activity like drawing or reading. Bill always looked for ways to change himself, he was left-handed. If he was bored in school, he took notes with his right hand. Gates wrote his first software program at the age of 13. In high school he helped form a group of programmers who computerized their school’s payroll system and founded Traf-O-Data. In 1975 Gates, then a sophomore at Harvard University, joined his hometown friend Paul G. Allen to develop software for the first microcomputers. They began by adapting BASIC, a popular programming language used on large computers, for use on microcomputers. With the success of this project, Gates left Harvard during his junior year. Largely on the strength of Microsoft’s success, Gates amassed a huge paper fortune as the company’s largest individual shareholder. He became a paper billionaire in 1986, and within a decade his net worth had reached into the tens of billions of dollars—making him by some estimates the world’s richest private individual.