Benefits and drawbacks of using public transport

Using public transportation is becoming more and more common today. When it comes to public transportation, many people choose it because they want to help protect the environment as well as reduce their stress levels. However, for particular schedules, such as traveling, it may not be the ideal option. In this paragraph, I will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks of taking public transport. Firstly, one of the primary advantages of using public transportation is that it helps to lessen the intensity of air pollution. Because public transportation can carry a large number of passengers, it reduces the amount of fossil fuel burnt and exhaust gases produced into the environment significantly. As a result, diminishing the use of private vehicles will help to safeguard the environment. According to recent research in the world, communities that invest in public transit reduce the nation’s carbon emissions by 63 million metric tons annually. Secondly, taking public transportation saves both individuals and society money and resources. As public transportation is supported by the government, it is often less expensive than other private vehicles. Furthermore, rather than driving and wasting time finding a parking lot, commuters can relax by listening to music, reading books, or even sleeping. The entire cost to society will drop as petrol consumption and carbon emissions fall when public transportation is employed. However, just like a coin, everything has two sides, and so does taking public transport. The first disadvantage is that public transportation, such as buses and trains, is extremely crowded. Sometimes there is not enough seat for passengers. This element makes the passenger feel quite inconvenient. There is also the chance of being attacked or robbed. Slowness is also another problem. For example, I go to university by bus every Monday. Nevertheless, the buses did not run on their schedule, so I was late when I was on my way to school, and sometimes I had to wait in front of the school gate for 30 minutes. In conclusion, going by public transport has both positives and negatives. While taking public transit can save money and have benefit for the environment, people have to suffer the inconvenience and slowness. In my opinion, the benefits eventually outweigh any disadvantages.