Believe it or not, to Australian farmers, kangaroos are considered a pest

Believe it or not, to Australian farmers, kangaroos are considered a pest. A single kangaroo can threaten the profit of many farmlands simply because kangaroos are herbivores and so are sheep and cattle. Therefore, they all have the same diet. That is when the survivability of farm animals is prioritized by farmers. With their gifted legs and leaping ability, fences are no match for the kangaroos, and the after-work is a piece of cake to them. Imagine a horde of kangaroos just leaps into your farm and snatches all the grass with access to the limited water supply, leaving your sheep with nothing to survive on, this thought will definitely bring some discomfort to the farmers. This is why many people believe that the existence of kangaroos around the farmlands will leave immeasurable damage. The solution to this problem is that the government will grant hunters a permit or license to kill Kangaroos lawfully. They assure that Kangaroos, under the hand of these shooters, will be killed by a painless death with one shot to the head. However, in reality, there is no record that any of the kangaroos were killed in a humane way since most of the “cullings” happen at night. This also brings up some moral issues on whether if any injured kangaroos escape the scene, will they face a slow and painful death? And the fact that “Joeys” (baby kangaroos) can not survive without their mother’s care so the hunters would have to shoot them too will definitely disturb some people.