Augmented reality has become spread. Discuss advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon.

Nowadays augmented reality is used by people in plenty of areas for various reasons. This essay will suggest that providing better comprehension of guidance and enhancing interaction between people and physical objects are the most significant advantages of this technology, while exorbitant prices for developing and maintaining a device based on augmented reality and a risk to get health issues are the primary negative sides. The main advantages of augmented reality are improving human interaction with objects of the real world and allowing people to understand instructions better, learn easier and quicker. Usually, when tourists visit a historical site, they cannot see how it looked in the past, people can learn this information only through pictures and guides’ stories. Augmented reality devices allow people to immerse themselves in the atmosphere of the past better, making it possible to see destroyed parts of buildings. Besides, such technology helps to understand how to do something more accurately due to presenting instructions in interactive formats. For instance, soldiers can train techniques on a polygon with elements of augmented reality in conditions that are extremely close to reality, therefore, this technology improves the process of learning. Moreover, medical journal MedCityNews has reported recently that augmented reality applications help future surgeons to learn how to carry out operations without mistakes with a help of augmented reality applications that allow training in performing surgeries as if patients were real. Despite these benefits of augmented reality, it has several drawbacks. Firstly, the development of AR-enabled devices is extremely costly. The average cost of 3D augmented reality content can vary from $500 to $2000. Secondly, the widespread of this technology in games and other ways of entertainment can cause an increase in the number of people with obesity and eye problems, since augmented reality applications users often get addicted to spending time in these AR-based games as they seem to be real. To sum up, augmented reality is not only advantageous but also harmful to people. It allows people to gain new unusual emotions and knowledge through interacting with unreal objects in the real world, however, this technology is expensive to implement. Furthermore, in many cases using AR-based applications and devices leads to health problems.