At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people

Due to a multitude of factors, certain countries have a disproportionate amount of young adults compared to senior citizens. This essay will discuss for which reasons this is an advantageous situation, while it may possess its own drawbacks. There are a great number of benefits to having a large amount of young adults. Since, more people will be available to work, this will in turn increase the competitiveness of a country, and boost its economy. For example, in recent times there is an larger proportion of elderly in many developed countries than young people, such countries must then rely on immigration and foreign workers in order to sustain their way of living, taking care of the seniors and filling jobs left vacant. Meanwhile, countries with younger populations may thrive, as this need is not present, so they may focus on other issues and thus propel themselves further ahead compared to those with an increased amount of elderly. Whereas, despite having positives aspects a having more young may have its disadvantages. Because of the comparative lack of older citizens there may be a certain lack of knowledge in certain fields, where experience has no substitute, thus resulting in not enough proper guidance and education for some areas. For instance, the country of Nigeria, which is forced to employ engineers from overseas in order to provide the knowledge needed for the completion of certain more intricate, but essential projects. As such in various situations, having a number of more experienced workers can be beneficial in certain fields. To conclude, even though there are more advantages compared to the disadvantages in having a increased amount of young adults, a healthy mix of all generations is essential to provide an optimal outcome for all.