at schools and universities, girls favour arts subjects while boy prefer science course. what is the reason? should the trend be change?

It is true that the distinct priorities in choosing majors among students at educational institutions often rely heavily on gender characters. While arts-based subjects are more particularly prevalent among female students, scientific fields often tend to capture more attention of males. I believe that the difference in characters and competence between two sexes is the main reason behind this trend, and it is unnecessary to apply any changes to this. To begin with, gender-specific personalities and competence are at the root of student’s decisions. Firstly, girls often possess innate sophistication and patience as a result they could excel at handling painstaking tasks in arts-related subjects such as crafts, music, and drawing. In addition, it has been proven through numerous studies that boys have their analytic and logical ability developed more widely, which are more appropriate for mathematical and scientific areas. Despite some controversies about gender imbalance in work place, I reckon that this phenomenon is a natural development and it should not be adapted. First and foremost, if students are forced to follow majors that they are not suitable, senses of resentment and negative attitudes will gradually heighten toward study at school, which bring about the loss in their interest to learn. Moreover, they should be entitled to participate in any classes they desire to learn because only an appropriate learning environment could cultivate learner’s aptitude and spot prospective talents. In conclusion, it is obvious that there is a significant difference in subject choices between two sexes that is caused by gender’s characteristics of personalities and competence. I strongly believe that this trend should not be adapted.