At school, children should either be taught to compete or to cooperate. Which form of education do you think would best benefit society? Describe both sides of the argument and explain your own opinion.

Educational methods vary around the world. In some countries, competition is considered more important, while in other countries, cooperation is viewed as a more essential skill. In my opinion, both cooperation and competition are vital components of a complete education. Competitiveness is an attribute that is encouraged in many cultures, and it can be useful in many ways. Firstly, a child that learns how to compete and succeed will have advantages over the child who shies away from competition. For example, the child that has competitive drive and works hard to excel will create opportunities for himself or herself, and will be better equipped to handle challenges and find solutions. Healthy competition can benefit society by encouraging individuals to work hard, strive and succeed. On the other hand, cooperation is also an essential skill. Members of society must be able to cooperate in order to create successful, peaceful communities. If individuals work only competitively, without cooperating, then society will become fragmented. A good example to illustrate this point is a sports team; if one individual strives alone to succeed, his or her task will be more difficult. But if the team works together towards a common goal through cooperation, their chances of winning are better. For these reasons, cooperation should be taught in schools to create strong communities and a cooperative society. Therefore, it is my opinion that cooperation and competition are both essential elements of education and should both be taught in schools. If education is approached from both angles, a child might be taught to strive and succeed, but also to help those around him or her to do the same, therefore benefiting society by instilling both a sense of personal satisfaction but also of helpfulness. In conclusion, cooperation and competition, when taught together to young people, will create a future generation of successful and considerate citizens.