As time has changed, people’s mindsets are also altered to a great extent.

As time has changed, people’s mindsets are also altered to a great extent. In today’s era, people are valued on basis of their financial status while the belief of regarding mankind for their kindness, trust and honesty has completely vanished. I completely agree with this fact because of its sheer obvious existence. This essay will discuss why social status has become an important factor to judge people with provision of relevant reasoning and examples. It is not very uncommon to see individuals who have the sense of sticking to old fashioned values. Considerable number of people still carry the orthodox view which value humans beings based on their kind and honest nature. For example, last year while I was working as a teacher in a college, I come across some parents who praised the teachers who followed a polite and kind method for teaching children. Such people can be counted as a proof that old culture is still being followed and honour, kindness and trust is appreciated in an individual’s personality. Although we all may know somebody who admire human beings because of their kind nature, the ratio of such people has outnumbered by a lot when compared to the people who care about social and financial status over everything else. This means that money is given extreme importance and we are technically living in a materialistic society. For instance, a recent research conducted at St. John Fisher College revealed that almost 85% of respondents (aged 20 – 25) answered that they will prefer being friends with students who own fancy cars and extravagant houses. Similar survey was taken in an informal environment targeting audience at corporate companies which resulted likewise. For these reasons it is highly believed that social and financial credibility holds immense importance nowadays. To recapitulate, we may find some people who give utmost importance to kind nature, loyalty and honesty, however the amount of individuals preferring financial status has substantially increased. This essay discussed both viewpoints in light of evidences and also provided reasons why I completely agree that a person’s worth is now judged according to social status and material possessions.