As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, digital platforms are becoming more prominent among all kinds of sources. One such argument is about the reduction in the usage of newspapers due to advancements in the internet. I strongly believe that reading news through newspapers is outdated and this essay will discuss how the internet access has overtaken the traditional method of reading newspapers. To begin with, digitized form of news has become more prevalent in recent years. A majority of population prefer getting news in the web rather than buying newspapers due to many reasons. One main reason is its easier access than the printed papers, where in the former, the world news are contained in our hands at any time. Even though many have the habit of reading newspapers, it is slowly replaced by mobile phones and tablets. For instance, in India, most of the newspaper printing companies are either shutting down or moving towards the digital method. As a result of this, all people are gradually turning towards the net for knowing news. Secondly, this transition from printed ones to digital ones also help conserving forests. As the papers are manufactured from the wood, a vast number of trees are destroyed every day. If the need of newspapers are decreased, there will be no necessity for cutting down trees. For example, environmental activists are supporting this development because it paves the way for preserving endangered wildlife. Few people, however, stood for depleting the newspaper culture, the benefits of news available on web outweigh its demerits. This might be the reason why newspapers are becoming old-fashioned. To conclude, due to the advancements in technology, most of the people are attracted to accessing news through internet. Furthermore, current world is more concerned in protecting nature by avoiding the products that are needing exploitation of the environment. I firmly agree that this may lead to disuse of newspapers in the future.