As major cities are growing, so are their problems. What are the problems for young people who are living in the cities as a result of continuing growth? What can be done to improve the situation?

The more urbanisation happens, the more issues big cities may have. City life can be extremely difficult, especially for the youth. This essay will examine some of these problems, and then propose some solutions. One of the main issues is that fact that nowadays, more and more young people are easily affected by social evils. This is because they are not mature and self-discipline enough to avoid yielding temptations such as drug abuse, violence. Therefore, in most case, they don’t have money to meet their bad demands which leads to illegal decisions such as crime, prostitution, etc. The way forward is for the community to launch campaigns to educate and raise awareness of social evils among the young as much as possible. As a consequence, they can resist the temptations of social evils. Another problem is traced to the increasing rate of unemployment. For example, in Ho Chi Minh City, there has been a lot of migration from the towns to the cities in recent years; thus, the youth must try hard to improve their qualification in order to get long-term jobs. What is more, as the competitive working environment puts an enormous strain on them, the quality of life is correspondingly reduced due to stress-related illness and the pressing phenomenon, suicide rate becomes common within the youth. To tackle this issue, the government should develop the economy and investment to create employments. This could hopefully reduce the tension of finding jobs among the youth. Finally, dealing with financial burdens is a painstaking progress, and this is also one of the problems facing the young. That is to say the cost of living in some place is so exorbitant whilst their income slowly rises. Hence, that they cannot cope up with adequate housing, for example. This problem could be addressed by increasing salary for young workers so as to meet their daily demands. To conclude, although there are many challenges of modernized life that the youth have to face, it is undoubtedly possible to start to tackle these issues. Government and the community should take the lead in solving these problems, otherwise city life will deteriorate.