As everyone knows, in both 2020 and 2021, people’s lives around the world have been impacted by COVID-19. Please write a 250-word essay on how people’s leisure life has changed and analyze the advantages and disadvantages of these changes.

The outbreak of COVID-19 pandemic has completely changed people’s life. To contain the spread of coronavirus, individuals spend most of their time staying at home, let alone going outdoors in leisure time. It has a few advantages and disadvantage for both people and the environment. Since the coronavirus pandemic swept through the world, it has led to enormous impact on almost everything, especially people’s activities in their spare time. The governments all over the world have urged their citizens not to go out unless it is necessary. Besides, a good deal of cities and countries around the globe have gone into lockdown in an attempt to curb the transmission of COVID-19. Therefore, the public could hardly go outing in their free time, let alone traveling abroad. They had no choice but to find something to do such as binge-watching or indoor sports when being stuck at home. The phenomenon has contributed to several pros and cons for individuals and our environment. First, it has significantly eliminated COVID-19 infection by avoiding going to the crowded tourist attractions and uncirculated public space. In addition, trip reduction that conduces to a decrease in carbon emission makes the air fresh and clean again. Also, due to the COVID-19 pandemic restrictions, wildlife having a rare opportunity to experience life with hardly any humans around is able to show up in urban areas. However, staying home for a long time gives rise to people’s feeling of depression and a reduced amount of exercise. In conclusion, COVID-19 has inevitably changed people’s leisure life but it’s not completely a bad thing. Mother nature is only able to get a break from humans during the pandemic.