As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars.

In recent times, there are more people buying their own cars as public transportation is getting over saturated. Although the purchases are for various reasons, I will review the pros and cons of having a personal means of transportation which is the vehicle. The main disadvantage of owning a personal vehicle is traffic congestion, especially in major cities during rush hour this also leads to harmful health implications which includes hypertension. Car ownership is also seen as thing of Pride, whereby the more exotic or expensive a car is, the more status symbol it creates for the owner. This increases the materialistic tendencies of young people, therefore driving them to a life of crime so they can afford and display such items of wealth. The advantages of buying and using your own car is varied and includes, ability to commute around town at anytime especially in emergencies. There are certain areas and public places that buses do not ply. Also for safety reasons when there is a need to pass through lonely or travel far distance a private vehicle comes in handy because security is a key aspect of life. The advantages have clearly won because of the freedom of movement it gives an individual to be able to commute at anytime and anywhere without any hindrance. It is difficult to restrict movement, especially when people have to move around to earn a living or their working hours is different from the norm and the public transportation schedule. Whether as a luxury or a necessity, owning a car is very important, notwithstanding the effects it might have on the environment.