as countries become more developed there has been a trend towards smaller family sizes.

Nowadays, most countries have seen a sharp drop in the birth rate because people have been becoming nuclear family rather than extended family. In this essay, I will discuss the main cause of this and its impact on society. There is no doubt that the cost of living has become more expensive than before. This is because of a high rate of taxes for most important things such as accommodations, groceries, and education. Actually, the best example would be, in Saudi Arabia most people were able to buy a villa 25 years ago while now the majority cannot, they can only have a flat. Also, there was no value-added tax but today there is, however, there is no change for the people salary even after the VAT. As a result of this, most families have decided to have a smaller family so they can afford the cost of living. The main impact of small families on our society is mental health. This is because nuclear family tend to live alone and far away from their parents so they cannot have great support from their parents if they need help. The best example of this is, my friend Ahmed and his wife live in Dubai and their parents in Jeddah, sometimes they feel depressed and lonely, they need somebody to contact and encourage them but there are no family members nearby. As a result of this, they have become more introverted and just sitting at home and they do not have any desire to meet with people. In conclusion, there is no doubt that small families are more popular these days because of living cost. Although, this could lead to some mental health problems such as depression which is not useful for our society.