As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people travelling, there is a growing demand for more flights. What problems does this have on the environment? what measures could be taken to solve the problems?

Due to the high population of people travelling, the demand for flights have grown. This essay will discuss the main disadvantage of increasing airline travels on the planet and a major way to solve this problem. Air planes and helicopter pollute the environment. Aircraft release carbon monoxide in the atmosphere which in turn, destroys the Ozone layer. The Ozone layer is the shield between the earth and the sun; it protects living things on earth from direct contact with the sun. However, the Ozone layer can be easily destroyed by smoke and other forms of carbon monoxide. For example, a research carried out by some astronauts revealed that the planet today, is twice as hot as it used to be a decade ago! They believed that the increase in heat is as a result of destruction of the earth's shield by smoke. The question is how do we tackle this challenge? A major way to curb the impact of human activities, especially the release of smoke in the environment, is to look for other methods to power our machines - this includes jets, planes and helicopters. In 1960, a scientist named Robert Bosch was able to prove that coal was a good alternative for powering machines and equipment. Although research is ongoing on how best to refine coal for industrial use, no much progress has been made so far. Nevertheless, it is important that human beings keep in mind that coal is a very rich source of energy for powering the universe. In conclusion, aircrafts are a major source of pollution to our planet due to the fuelling method; hence there is a need to look for better ways to fuel them. In addition, coal is a better alternative that has little or no effect on the atmosphere.