As a new teaching method, professors record a video (lecture) in advance for students to learn, and class time is used to answer questions, and have discussions. Do you think this is an effective way and why?

It is a generally accepted fact that having an education is of paramount importance for a comfortable and fulfilling life; in fact, so valuable can one's education be that about one-third of each person's life is dedicated to studying and learning. In recent years, due to development of technology a wide variety of teaching methods is designed and some of them are used by teachers and professors. In this case, some controversy arises that which teaching methods is efficient for students. There are many people who contend that recording a video for students by professors and dedicating a class time to discussion about the materials of video is an efficient methods of learning. I personally concur with this idea. The rationale behind this thesis will be investigated through two reasons in what follows. One reason of note comes to my mind at first is that listening to recorded videos of class materials increase performance of students. Most of the academic lessons need more time to comprehend thoroughly. Therefore, by recording a video, students can spend a noticeable time to get all the information properly and also they can play the video more than one time and take notes during the watching. It goes without saying that students have more time to get completely involved, think deeply about the lessons and write their questions to answer in the class. This teaching method provide the opportunity for the students to watch their lesson in appropriate time with enough energy and attention and this situation will result in the performance of students increase and get good grades in lessons. Take my friend as a chemistry student as an example, during Covid-19 pandemic, her chemistry professor recorded videos of class and upload them in the university's website. My friend worked until night in the laboratory and she didn't have enough attention during the morning classes. By using this methods, she watched the video in the weekend and wrote her question to answer in the class. So, the more time to study the lessons, the more performance students have. Second, should professors use new teaching methods, the social skills of students will be increased. participating in the discussion teach students to think critically and listen actively. If students listen and think carefully, they could ask their questions and also answer the other's questions. This opportunity will result in students familiar with each other’s and make new friendship. A study conducted in Sharif University of Tehran about the impact of participating in discussion on social skills of students, the results revealed that more than 90 percent of students of university have a fear of talking in front of others and university classes provide the situation for students to overcome the fears. So, allocating a time of class just for discussion and answering the question lead to social skills of students increase and it's good for future of students. In summary, all the aforementioned ideas and examples point to the fact that using new teaching methods have some efficient impacts on students. This is because not only can students reach higher performance in their lessons but they can also increase their social skills by this way (8). Thus, let us hope that universities use new methods more than before that is useful for students and professors.