Around the world more and more people today are living in urban areas. Why is this? What problems does this cause?

Most of the humans today are moving to metropolis cities across the globe. This rapid urbanisation is mainly due to more access to facilities and better lifestyle in cities. This trend of living in urban areas has brought several serious concerns. The most evident reason for people living in cities is access to many facilities. Because there are many employment opportunities and medical facilities, which mostly are not available in rural areas, individuals prefer living in cities. For example, corporate companies are built in cities as there a plethora of equipment to support the technology, which create means of income for people. Another reason for people living in urban places is to have a better lifestyle. If people have high-paid salaries, they would prefer to live in luxurious apartments to lead a comfortable life. On the other hand, this trend has brought several issues worth considering. Firstly, overcrowding of people in cities resulted in pollution because of using private vehicles on roads for transportation. Consequently, people are facing many health related problems such as Asthama and breathing difficulties for example. Secondly, increase in population density in urban environment also raised crime rate significantly due to poor living conditions. To illustrate, the research shows that crime rate has increased 20% in cities over the last decade in India. In conclusion, although people tend to live in cities to live a better lifestyle, crime rate and pollution problems are alarming. If measures are taken to control the criminal activities and environmental problems by the government, they could mitigate the urbanisation problem to the most extent.