Around the world more and more people today are living in urban areas. Why is this? What problems does this cause?

It is true that nowadays a growing number of people prefer cities to countryside. This essay is going to discuss the causes and consequences of this tendency. There are two main reasons why people move away from country to towns and megacities. First is that cities offer a variety of different employment opportunities not available in rural settlements. As a result, when people become city dwellers they have more chances to build up a successful career and provide themselves better quality of life. What is more, living conditions in countryside are often inferior to urban ones and this makes rural life uncomfortable and sometimes almost impossible. For example, an impressive number of Ukraine villages still do not have the simplest household conveniences, such as electricity, central heating and hot water. The expansion of city population has led to several serious troubles. One of the biggest problems caused by this trend is the development of various environmental issues. This is because the constant flow of new people makes city areas expand which results in the increased level of water, air and sound pollution. Additionally, because of growing urban areas the number of green spaces, such as parks or gardens, decreases. Due to lack of fresh air more and more people are now suffering from respiratory diseases, for instance, asthma or bronchitis. In conclusion, limited job options and harsh way of life made a major part of rural population turn into a city one which led to the emergence of several environmental and health concerns.