Around the world more and more people today are living in urban areas. Why is this? What problems does this cause?

In today's world, a lot of people have begun to prefer living in urban areas and this has led to a variety of different consequences. Firstly, this essay will discuss the convenience of living in a city as the main reason of such a choice and, secondly, it will analyse a harmful impact on health as the major demerit of this approach. On the one hand, a larger part of the population lives in industrial cities since it makes their life more comfortable. This is because all important places are located in the city, including work, shops where citizens can purchase all the necessities and space for leisure activities. As a result, living in a flat gives a person opportunities not to waste their time on useless moving since the majority of crucial for life places can be found near their accommodation. For instance, a recent study has shown that on average it takes about 2 hours to get from a countryside area to the center. On the other hand, this change might lead to some problems, namely related to a health condition and immune system. This is due to the fact that in industrial cities there is a significant amount of pollution and a lot of emissions are thrown into the atmosphere. Therefore, citizens breath in harmful components and it might influence the condition of their lungs. For example, research conducted in Ukraine illustrates that children who live in urban areas have a 30% higher predisposition to various diseases related to the lungs. To conclude, a larger part of society moved to urban areas since it simplifies their life and makes it more convenient due to the fact that everything can be found in a city. However, in a long run, this type of life could increase risks of health problems because of a high level of pollution.