animal welfare and budget allocation

Every time a disheartening statistics on animals being endangered, I cringe. While governments are allocating budgets to protect wildlife, there are many who swear against this, given that there are other material problems that they think should be prioritized. In this essay, I will discuss why leaders of the country should continue to do so, putting enough funds for animal welfare. As part of every nation's constitution, every life form in the land is the responsibility of the country, not limited to humans. The number of animals, like gorillas, continues to shrink, and without proper funding, they would reach the inevitable extinction. Likewise, animals are incapable of earning money to support their needs in this modern world; hence, government support is required to keep them alive. An endangered species of the gorilla in Africa, for instance, recently became extinct because of the lack of aid coming from their cousins, the homo sapiens. As such, without the help of humans, their quantity will continue to shrink and risk them disappearing on the face of the Earth. On the other hand, budgets are also allocated to other national and local issues and are not entirely placed in wildlife protection. Lawmakers are ensuring that enough funds are also being utilized for other pressing needs, such as poverty, and not solely for animal welfare. The Philippines budget allocation report back in 2020, indeed, indicates that only 3% of the budget was transferred to aid in helping institutions taking care of faunas. This report proves that not a boatload of the national budget is being allocated for animal use. Funds allocation, hence, is not primarily being used for programs that protect animals. Scientists, activists, and the press have discussed, many have submitted proposals, yet budget on animal welfare remains a subject of passionate debate. In my view, and based on reports, the government is not spending the majority of the country's finances on programs to aid in protecting faunas. Likewise, if they continue to tighten the wallet going to such platforms, then they are also doing a disservice to the country in protecting all life forms.