" In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species w

In the letter to the environmental magazine’s editor the author states that the reduction of amphibian species in Xanadu National Park has a different cause which is introduction of trout. The author came to this conclusion based on the assumption that trout eats amphibian’s eggs. However, to evaluate this statement, few questions must be answered. First of all, does the amphibians present in the Xanada national park were served with purified water and air. Amphibian’s number has steadily decreased not only in Xanada Park throughout the world because of pollution of air and water. It is possible that because of impurity water and air might affect the health of the species and leads to decline in the number. If the above scenario is merit, then the argument is weakened. Secondly, the number of species from 1975 to 2002 are same throughout the given time period? It might happen that the species have experienced a steady decrease in the number throughout the years and recorded only 4 species by 2002. If the above assumption is true then the argument does not hold water. Thirdly, after the introduction of trout, is there any evidence that trout ate each and every egg of amphibians. In other words, did trout eat the eggs of amphibians? There is a chance of possibility that trout survived by eating other than these eggs. Since, there is a steady decline in the species globally, cause of reduction in species cannot be put on trout alone. In conclusion, the argument, state as now, is considerably flawed. If the author is able to answer above questions and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to evaluate the conclusion made.