" All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have co

The letter of a school in Centerville town recommends that a compulsory driver’s education course should be given to teenagers as most of the accident occurred over the past 2 years around the town is done by teenage drivers. This conclusion is based on the assumptions that parents neither have time to teach their kids nor they have money to send their teenagers to a driving school. However, as more light is shed on the issue and more detailed facts are concerned, lack of answers through the argument leads me to question its validity. First of all, how effective can the driving course be which will be offered in the school? In other words, how good will it have an impact on the students? It is possible that students might study for passing the exam for their marks but they might not take the course as serious as it should be taken. If the above mentioned assumption is merit, then the argument is weakened. Secondly, will there be any practical lessons offered in the course? Until and unless there is a practical knowledge on driving a vehicle, there won’t be any change just because of the class. It is possible that an apprentice cannot drive a vehicle just because he got a top grade in the course. Perhaps, teenager might think he has good theoretical knowledge so that he can drive a vehicle. This leads to more number of accidents and risk of accidents. If the above scenario is true, then the argument does not hold water. Finally, even if the practical lessons are offered, how can they offer to a large number of students? Just to have a limited time of practical class doesn’t have an impact on the teenager driving. The young person must practice and he must get habituated to the car and roads, otherwise there might be a chance of hitting a car or tree. If the above mentioned is true, then the argument doesn’t hold any strength. In conclusion, the argument, which stands as of now, is considerably flawed. However, if the author is able to offer more evidence and can answer above mentioned question, it is possible to evaluate the conclusion completely.