An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, it is seen that schools are switching from traditional way of learning by using books and printed materials to the modern world technology like laptop computers and tablets to teach students. This technique of learning is surely helping students to succeed but it also comes with its drawbacks. The main benefit of using tablets and laptops in school is that students get the exposure to the modern technology in their early ages which can help them succeed in life. In other words, today's world is more liable on computers than ever before. Every other business is using such devices to grow in the market. As per a recent study by US government, more than 95% of the US market needs people who knows how to use computers and laptops. For example, if someone wants to become software engineer, students who are exposed to computers in their early stages tends to perform well in jobs as compared to candidates who recently started using computers. That is why, such curriculum in school can benefit students in their later life. On the other hand, such school practices come with the drawback of deprivation of reading books leading to health issues and bad handwriting. Replacing books and printed assignments with computers can lead to breaking the habit of students to read from a paper material altogether and increased screen time can affect eyes adversely. A study conducted at MIT shows that students who are using computers from early ages tend to get myopia a dysfunction of eyes faster as compared to non-users or moderate users of such devices. Furthermore, using computer can result in bad handwriting because students mostly use software like word to take notes, and spend less time writing manually on paper. Therefore, trend of using computers in schools by replacing books can harm students. In conclusion, schools providing laptops and other devices to students instead of traditional materials like books can help students achieve higher miles in one aspect of their life but can harm them if use excessively.