An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Many schools offer electronic devices such as desktops and tablets as learning tools to their students instead of books, paper exames and hand written assignments. This trend can bring benefits such as positive impact on environment and better convenient to students, but there are also some drawbacks to be taken into account. Use of e-devices can have a positive impact on the environment. This is because books and other printed materials use papers which gets produced by cutting trees, and cutting trees can be harmful for the environment, while desktops and tablets can store thousands of books and assignments in their hard drive which can save millions of trees. Schools around the world, hence, by saving trees can reduce global warming effects. Another significant advatage of laptops and desktops is that they provide convinence to students. As students will be able to access all their courses in the computer, they will not require to carry different books for each individual subjects. That can increase their comfort during school hours. In contrast, electronic devices can distract student during their studies. This is because students may starts using social media applications on those devices and can loose their focus on the lectures. That can have detrimental effects on their study and might impact their exam results. In my local area library, for exapmle, many students spend most of their times by surfing over the internent rather than reading the books. Another possible disadvantage is that excessive usage of laptops and tablets in school can pose serious threats on children's health. Harmful rays come out from screens of laptops and tablets which can impact eye sights of children negatively in a long run. In conclusion, although there are some advantages of using computers and tablets in school, it can also bring many disadvantages to students as it can have adverse impact on their eyesights, and they might get distracted from their studies.