An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

Online shopping has become increasingly popular these days and more and more people prefer to shop / buy online instead of going to stores. This trend has both positive and negative impact on individuals and companies. The growing popularity of online shopping can be attributed to the fact that it makes shopping easier. From an individual perspective, buying from online stores can be convenient and time saving. This means that customers can place orders from their home through shopping websites or apps without traveling to brick-and-mortar stores and thus save both time and money. In addition to that, consumers can get products with better quality and at lower prices by comparing the same item on various online shops. As for online store owners, The main advantage of having an online business is the cost difference between setting up a traditional office-based company and an ecommerce website. While there are fees associated with securing a domain and setting up a website, these are minimal in comparison to the cost of leasing and maintaining physical premises. Online business model also enables the owners to market their companies on a global scale, reaching potential customers in other countries and continents. On the flip side, there are security concerns associated with online shopping. Individuals may suffer from financial loss because computer viruses and hackers are constantly trying to tap into online companies and steal customer identities and financial information. Moreover, the lack of a support system can make the process of exchange or refund complicated. For example, if a customer finds that the purchased goods are faulty, it may take several days until the issue is rectified. For online shoppers, they have to deal with the complaints from the customers due to the faulty goods. And this can affect the credibility of the online stores and eventually influence their business. To conclude, online shopping has definitely made people’s life easier by providing them more choices at lower prices and also by offering more people the opportunity to start their own business online. At the same time, network security and poor quality of online products also bring inconveniences to both individuals and companies.