An American singer and songwriter, Jim Morrison, states, “Whoever controls the media, controls the mind.

An American singer and songwriter, Jim Morrison, states, “Whoever controls the media, controls the mind. ” The truth is, we, the ones in control of our own life, choose our media. By selecting and deciding what we prefer to expose ourselves to, we can maintain control and smartly consume media. As an active user of media, especially social media, I am delighted social media bring me to know a country that I adore, South Korea. Since senior high school, I have routinely consumed Korean cultural products: drama, music, food, variety show, and beauty products. I remembered the first time I watched a Korean drama, later it excited me to know more about Korean culture, the people, and the country itself. I sincerely wish that one day I get an opportunity to pursue my education in Korea. It will help me learn and appreciate Korean cultures through my eyes, which is a hugely rewarding educational experience. Furthermore, It will develop valuable skills and influence my way of thinking. With support from the Bidikmisi scholarship, I manage to be the first to complete higher education in my family. The greatest gift my parents gave me after my younger siblings was an encouragement to pursue education. After my father passed away, my mother fights her way to ensure that the three of us graduated. Currently, my sister works in a startup company also my brother is starting his own business. I got my Bachelor’s degree majoring in Communication Management GPA of 3. 84/4. 0. I was interested in Communication since I watched news anchors on television in high school back then. In semester five, I choose media management to learn more about media planning, media practice, and media research. It allowed me to analyze, engage in research, understand media, and gain knowledge in productions. After struggled to study in a group, review the journals, and write papers about various media, I managed to finish all media-related courses with marks of A. During my third year, I did on-job training at the Televisi Republik Indonesia (TVRI). There I applied what I got in class into the workplace. It allowed me to explore, make mistakes, and discuss innovative solutions with the staff. The most significant part for me was the quality control (QC) division. It was the last step to check whether each program meets the standards and policy or not. I had to pay attention to the details and master guidelines set by Indonesian Broadcasting Commission. This experience taught me to always double-check my work before sending or publishing it. In May of 2016, the worst nightmare that change my whole life happened. My father, a hard-working person who encouraged my study, was seriously ill then passed away when I completed field research in Subang and almost finished my thesis. Before his condition worsened, he asked my mother not to inform me of anything that affects my study. Our last phone conversation popped in my head as I sat in disbelief. I told him I desired to pursue a master's degree. He said he was able to see me with a bachelor's degree. At that time, I did not think anything unfavorable would happen till I lose him forever. It was an indefinable amount of grief and the most devastating time in my life. Recalling him and his wishes to see me graduate driven me to complete my research. I wrote my thesis at a certain amount of pages per day and increasing gradually. Accompanied by "Running Man" to clear my mind and get a fresh perspective, I finished my thesis with the award of Cumlaude. I was not grateful for the death of my father. Instead, I was thankful for knowing my values and strengths while going through the experience. It was okay to have bad days, but it was not okay to stay in grief. Looking back on my college days, I joined the Student Executive Board and Association of Students in Communication Management. I also volunteered in many activities like Universitas Padjadjaran Award to strengthened my teamwork and leadership skill. It was hard to manage time between study and activities. However, I learned to make a to-do list and prioritizing my tasks effectively. To summarize, I consider myself to be a creative and hard-working person who is motivated by Korea as the leading industry in cultural products to pursue my education there. Being admitted to GKS may support my intentions to be a media analyst and help me to enhance the capabilities I already had.