Among the skills that a worker should possess, which skill do you think is more important, social skills or good qualifications? Explain the reasons and provide specific examples to support your answer.

The dynamics of job qualification have been changed rampantly over the years. Today’s work environment is more competitive and challenging than before. Nowadays, especially in times of fast transition, technical skills and academic knowledge are not enough- social skills are also required to become a successful professional. In my opinion, of all skills necessary, social skills, and good qualifications related to one’s area of work are the most important. Social skill is an essential for an employee to work in an office where people with different designations and skill set work together. Walker (1983) defines social skills as “a set of competencies that a) allow an individual to initiate and maintain positive social relationships, b) contribute to peer acceptance and to a satisfactory school adjustment, and c) allow an individual to cope effectively with the larger social environment” (p. 27) Communication is one of the major concerns in the workplace. Creating and maintaining a positive work environment is what means a effective workplace communication. Effective communication at the workplace is what distinguishes a good leader from a great one. Communication at workplace defines organizational goals and helps coworkers collaborate. This is a step towards a better work environment and goals of the company. However, besides social skills, having good qualifications will help people or an employee do a better in their jobs. Having a diploma qualification under your belt is a sure-fire way to secure your career’s future, get your foot ahead with your dream job, or get you that promotion you have always wanted. More importantly, having a proper education will help people to understand their job requirement and understand it’s nature and responsibilities. As a result with having knowledge and skills of their duties, they will be able to deliver their best work. And eventually, this will leave a good impression to the supervisors and managers. This would be immensely beneficial for their career. Thus, education plays a crucial role for professional success. References: Walker, H. M. (1983). The ACCESS program: Adolescent curriculum for communication and effective social skills: Student study guide. Austin, TX: Pro-Ed.