Ambition is a good or bad thing

Nowadays, there is a growing awareness of the importance of ambition. Although ambition plays a vital role in becoming successful, what shouldn’t be underestimated is that excessive ambition can do harm to the harmony of the society. As we all know, it is hard for a person to be successful without ambition. The reason why ambition is essential is that an ambitious person tends to have a clear goal which will direct them to success. This idea can be backed up with the example of Longping Yuan, a world-famous Chinese agriculturalist, who determined to solve the food shortage problem of newly- founded China(PRC?). He focused on this goal for his whole life and finally cultivated a productive type of wheal and lifted thousands million of people from hunger. Moreover, ambition is usually accompanied with motivation, which will encourage people to overcome various difficulties and challenges they encounter during their life. It is Yuan’s ambition of tackling this issue that motivated him to carry on the experiment after uncountable failures. He became one of the most respected person in China, the experience of whom proves the importance of ambition in the way to success. Considering the significant role ambition plays in achieving success, fostering a healthy level of ambition of great importance. People with excessive ambition are more likely to become an aggressive person who will use whatever ways he can to achieve his goal. For instance, politicians abusing their power and reputation, as a consequence, go to the jail when breaking the law. This will definitely disrupt the order of our society. In conclusion, ambitions at a certain level helps people to lead a successful life, by contrast, if people desire too much, their ambition will have a negative effect on both their life and the society.