Although there is a lot of software available today that can translate from one language to another, it is still necessary for people to learn a foreign language.

Whereas it is true that the technological progress and its advances have made it possible for people to communicate with one another without knowing foreign languages by themselves, but rather relying on particular modern platforms, I am still convinced that the necessity to acquire a competence in different foreign tongues remains the same and cannot be doubted due to a number of important reasons. Admittedly, the today’s world has been captivated by numerous gadgets and applications which significantly comfort one’s life, and the field of international communication is certainly not an exception. Quite the contrary, the worldwide digitalization and constant development of software as well as devices have really enabled the correspondence and interaction among individuals from diverse countries without the need to study a foreign language. As a matter of fact, many scientists and programmers have made a lot of effort to include numerous details and upgrade the tools proving the translation, so that at present everyone is able not only to write to foreigners, but also to have a satisfactory verbal conversation. Therefore, to some extent it appears to be quite a rational decision to take advantage of the mentioned technological breakthrough, thereby saving time, energy and finances required for learning foreign tongues. In spite of the persuasive arguments stated above, I deem that much as advanced the technologies are, nothing can substitute the natural ability to communicate with others directly without any robotic assistance or computer systems. The reason is that a language should not be regarded simply as a set of rules, combinations and figures since, as a rule, it also represents a particular culture and mentality of a nation. For example, automatic computer translation may well result in numerous misunderstandings, which today is constantly being experienced by many people who themselves struggle with foreign languages and tend to count on certain applications. Moreover, the connection among people and the communication itself is inclined to be much more pleasant, fruitful and genuine when both parties themselves are capable of speaking the same language. In conclusion, while it would be fair to compliment all the possibilities provided by the cutting-edge technologies which often seem to be truly useful, I personally believe that the capacity to speak to people from other countries, not employing any gadgets or programs, is more effective; hence one still ought to dedicate time and money to studying foreign tongues.