Although societies around the world are richer and more advanced than ever before, people are not as happy as they used to be. Some people, therefore, feel that in order to be happy it is better for people to be poor and less advanced

In present day life a large number of people complain that they have been totally unable to achieve true peace and despite their efforts and their attempts at happiness, they are not happy at all. Although, they live in highly developed nations, and can lead abundant life, they don’t feel themselves happy enough. First of all, I don’t support an idea that for being happy, society ought to be poor and less advanced again. It is a radical decision to take because the progress of humanity has been going on over decades and it is impossible and foolish to stop it. Because if a man tries to end his personal development, it may lead him to the lack of mental stimulation and to a feeling that he is no longer valued in society. The reason why people end up in such a predicament is because they try to find happiness in the wrong places and with the wrong people. For some, happiness is the material wealth they obtain, being able to spend their money as they like, buy whatever they want and consume more and more each day. For people like this, consumption, experiencing every beauty and pleasure, is the greatest source of happiness in their lives. Such desires are like a bottomless well - they never come to an end. Because of their desires people emerge who are never satisfied with anything they obtain, who always want more and better and who believe that they will be able to live happier lives if they acquire more things, and better things. However, these efforts only gain them a temporary happiness. I think people will be happy when they feel that they are valued persons for society. Spending their money truly can give them this feeling. They ought to invest more money on educational and scientific programs. I am sure, they do feel happy when they realize that their money served to favorable purposes and provided a lot of children with basic education. It will be very good if they share some small part of their wealth with the derived and destitute. Gradually, they understand that they aren’t lonely and have a lot of friends who appreciate them not for their wealth but for their nobility and generosity. In conclusion, it is certain that different people value happiness in very different ways. But in my point of view, faith way to happiness should be common – not to think only about ourselves. Although for the last 50 years, the world’s richest countries have grown wealthier and wealthier, and people who live in highly – developed nations can lead abundant life, they don’t feel themselves happy enough.