rise in the number of crimes

In recent years, there has been a rise in the number of crimes being committed. Some people argue that there ought to be fixed punishments for certain crimes. Other people believe crimes classify categorically. A robber or a murderer cannot be punished with same penalty. For instance, in ancient times, if people who steal an apple or a car, their hands was cutted. In my opinion, it is not fair. There must be different punishments for these two people. To give an other example, there must be different punishment between someone who is forced to kill for self defence and a killer. In a traffic accident, there would be death. It is vital to take into account the reasons. A mentally ill person who commits a murder would be judged accordingly, instead of in the same category of all the other type of murderers. On the other hand, some people believe that if there is not be certain punishments for each type of crime, governments should prepare a different law for each type of crime. A fixed punishment for each type of crime is necessary due to several reasons. Fixed punishment is needed to standardise for different crimes. The government also should pay attention to the reason why people have committed criminalities. For example, there are some cases which show the most reason for committing a crime are economic problems. In conclusion, in my point of view every penalty should make their decisions on punishments by considering environment and phsycological condition. It is important why crime committed. All circumstance should consider and people should punish fairly.