All high school students should take a course in basic economics.

Students’ curriculum consists of various type of courses in different fields, which are classified into two group based on their complexity and application. Economy is one of the courses that maybe introduce into students’ curriculum. People around us are divided into two groups. The first one think that students should learn basic knowledge of economy, even thought if it is not beneficial for them, while the second group take the opposite view. Both of these two contradictory ideas have several conceivable reasons. However, from my point of view, I do believe that rudimentary economy course should be eliminated from students’ study plan because of two compelling reason that will be explained in the following paragraphs. First and the foremost reason that I agree with not offering economy course for high school students is that it wastes students’ efficient time. Students at that age are financially depend on their family, and are paid by their parents. Besides, they are not old enough to be able to perform a variety of tasks, which need wisely managing their money. It is true that in the future they will take a job, and maybe this kind of information will be helpful for them at such an occasion in order to manage their money properly, nevertheless they will forget whatever they learn in this course. Because until that time, economic information is impractical for their daily life and they do not benefit from it. For instance, high school students are more keen on learning valuable information such as managing their time to be able to develop their ability and skills. Thus, becoming familiar with matters that are not practical will not satisfy them. The final reason is that it is not useful for them. Since this course is in basic level, students are able to learn them for other resources. Therefore, there is no need to devote class time to teaching this course, and it should be spent on necessary matters such as math, science, psychology, and etc. that directly affect students’ life rather than impractical issue. As an example, I had this course in high school. Whenever my teachers taught this lessons, I have already known the methods and principle of it, now that I had learn them practically during my lifetime. Therefore, this class would not be profitable. However, if that time were putting into teaching efficient matters such as how to handle stress during difficult time, behave appropriately with other people, and perform tasks as a member of group, it would be more reasonable. That is why I do not think that it would be a constructive idea that basic economy course is taught to high school students. In conclusion, based on above mentioned reasons, I firmly believe that elementary economy course does not offer students many advantages. Because not only does it cause losing their time, but also this course is not as efficient as it should be.