Air pollution in Mexico in recent years

During the last few years, air pollution has emerged as one of the major causes of health problems and deaths across the globe, which has affected millions of people. The term air pollution is used to refer to the contamination of air caused by substances that are present in the atmosphere and which may be harmful to humans and other living organisms, or damage the climate or materials. The problem of air pollution has become increasingly urgent in Mexico. It is widely accepted by both the Mexican government and the Mexican citizens that air pollution is a major environmental and social problem. The problem is especially acute in large metropolitan areas like Mexico City. According to the World Meteorological Organization (WMO, 2009), it represents around 20 per cent of Mexico’s population and 9 per cent of its greenhouse gas emissions. This report will focus on air pollution and suggest strategies to reduce contamination in Mexico's atmosphere in recent years. To begin with, the issue and causes of air pollution in Mexico will be discussed. Thereafter, various solutions will be examined. Finally, this article will evaluate several solutions that may assist in reducing air pollutants.