Advertising is influencing people more and more. Is this a positive or a negative trend? Give your own opinion and examples.

Nowadays, we are increasingly surrounded by product or service advertisements. Although such competitive digital marketing like this, neither is entirely positive nor negative, in the eyes of me, it’s cons far outweigh the pros due to many consequences might have been followed from it regarding, impulsive buying and misrepresentation of facts. Advertising, the most popular strategy for marketing, is known as a powerful psychological tool to influence on individuals buying behaviour. People are being marketed while they don’t even notice to the heart of the matter. The effects of advertising often work in subtle ways. In the first step, advertisement companies induce a short-term need for having their product in people’s mind, which seems to be rationally necessary, tempting them to purchase the good. As a matter of fact, these ads are designed to persuade customers making a purchase whether or not they planned ahead. The worldwide demand for buying the latest version of cellphones helps to clarify the problem. Annually we witness the endless queues of people who want to own the newest high-status device even if their previous works as well. This is what is coined impulsive buying as a negative result of ads. In addition to illogical buying, sellers always trying to cover the dark side of their product and only highlight the positive characteristics to present a fault-free version of them. In this case, cigarette advertisements are such a good example which is worthy to mention here. Even in the primary cigarette ads has been mentioned how much it’s good for dental care! , ignoring it could extend beyond jeopardising human health and mainly causes lung cancer. Moreover, people are concerned about costs going up because of the advertisement expanse. The more a company promotes its products, the higher the cost per item should be paid which is heatedly debated among people why misleading advertising should be removed at all.