Advertising influence people to buy things. What are the problems caused by that? What solutions can be given?

It is argued by some people that the main objective of ads is to persuade people to buy products. Creating artificial needs and spreading deceptive information are two prime demerits of advertisements and taxation on it and increasing awareness of people can be solutions to reduce its negative consequences. First and foremost, advertising makes artificial demand. To explain further, it destroys the utility of certain products before their normal life span as it manipulates to replace the old products with the latest and improved ones. As a ramification, society is becoming a throwaway society. For example, according to a recent survey of a lifestyle magazine, 70%of people of the USA buy new cars in spite of the fact that their old cars are still useable. Another drawback of ads is misleading and exaggerated messages. Some products are shown with unrealistic results, action stunts, and glamour. Children can not distinguish between real and fancy facts, and they pester their parent to buy unhealthy foods seen on media which leads to obesity and other health problems. The most practical solution can be to impose taxes on advertising. To be more precise, there should be a sliding scale of taxation rather than a flat rate as it might squeeze out non-profit advertisers. Higher tariff for who want to advertise unhealthily and environmentally destructive consumption such as cars and fast food, and lower rates for socially beneficial subjects like charities, awareness-raising campaign. For instance, comparing the same rule on cigarettes and alcohol, a human rights organization claims that it ought to be a realistic solution. Furthermore, awareness programs can be promoted to make people realize that hard-earned money should not be wasted buying unnecessary products, and parents should motivate children to learn critical thinking skills. In conclusion, although advertising tempts to buy things people do not need and display misleading information, these can be reduced by charging taxes on advertising accordingly and making people aware of its adverse outcomes.