Advertisements have become the most powerful and persuasive way to raise the sales of product some people think that advertisements promote consumerism however others think they improve the standard of living which view do you agree with.

Irrefutably, adverts have become the most ideal tool to enhance the sales of any product. Different people have distinct sets of ideologies about the purpose of adverts as, some people opine that it encourages consumerism and others think that it raises the standard of living. However, I agree with the former view, reasons to which are explained in the subsequent paragraphs. The chief reason why people end up buying products that they do not need is that, companies win the faith of their consumer by hiring people they idolize such as actors and cricketers. Since majority of people have this desire to live and look like people they admire they do not even confirm twice before buying the product and, the companies are well aware of this fact so, they advertise their product exaggerating its benefits. Growing evidences have shown that sale of beauty cream, which in fact seldom gives any benefit, increased when company hired a popular actor to promote the product. Hence, it does promote consumerism. Another reason that it inclines consumerism is that it has a vast reach even to the people who are uneducated and unaware. They allure people with the help of graphics even some discounts, as it is shown in advertisements, they end up buying the product. Recent study at a University of Sidney reveals that major proportion of people who end up purchasing a product quickly are not much educated and are influenced by the flashy adverts. So, to some extent it makes buyers buy products which are not as such useful or required. In conclusion, I think that adverts have so much power and reach, it is not being used correctly as it has big role to play in the increase of consumerism.