ADVANTAGES OF LIVING IN AN EXTENDED FAMIY

An extended family is a family that extends beyond the nuclear family, consisting of parents like father, mother, and their children, aunts, uncles, grandparents, and cousins, all living in the same household. Although living in an extended family has many differences in viewpoints, beliefs, etc, it brings us many advantages as well. The first advantage when parents and their children’s families living under a single roof is combining resources and saving money. The most common multigenerational household is one with a grandparent as head of the household and his adult children had moved in with their children, an arrangement usually spurred by the needs of one or both to combine resources and save money. Nowadays, families are facing higher costs of housing such as Internet, electricity bill, . . so living under the same roof can be a good idea to reduce household expenses. It is hard to pay all the expenses alone but it will not be a problem when you live in an extended family, you can share it with everyone. Moreover, it can reduce the family’s financial strain as it’s a more affordable option. Adult children move back in with their parents as soon as they start earning. They help their parents earning and saving money until they have enough money to afford a house and live independently. Grandparents, especially those who’re healthy and willing, also take care of preteens and teens and offer babysitting services, saving the parents from the significant cost of childcare support. Another advantage of having an extended family under the same roof is that all the family members can get time to spend with their loved ones. The second most popular is a grandparent moving in with an adult child’s family, usually for caregiving reasons. Firstly, extended family is good for childcare and education. Multi-parenting by various adult family members not only saves on childcare and takes some of the load off working parents, but it also encourages grandparents and children to spend time together and add value to each other’s lives. Children have the advantage of growing up with multiple family members and also learning about caring for their elders, while grandparents remain productive and active while they keep up with the children’s activities and school work. Children living in big families tend to be happier because they can play with cousins that are around their ages. They will also have opportunities to know how to learn, grow up and they also get advice from older people about history, traditions, social skills, etc. It is claimed that children living in extended families tend to be good at school, more sociable, responsible, and sympathetic. Secondly, many families find it much easier and simpler to care for and support elderly, disabled, or sick adult family members when they live in the same home. Elderly parents might feel lonely when they do not have their close ones around them but living closely with their family members can make them feel happy. The elderly may also become more active when interacting with younger generations. There are 2. 5 million grandparents who say they are responsible for the basic needs of the grandchild living with them. Besides, the household can share the care responsibilities, establish better routines with the family members who need care and be able to notice any changes in their health or situation much quicker. Finally, all the family members can spend time together to share all worries, thinkings, and everyone can understand each other more. The family will be happier and relationships between them will be maintained. Every member of the house can seek companionship from the other, sharing their worries, concerns, and responsibilities with them. While living with an extended family, every family member gets a chance to witness each other’s daily lives. In conclusion, although the extended family has its inconvenience, it still has many advantages. The family members are always supportive of each other. The togetherness inculcates values necessary for societal development. Therefore, of all the family structures, the extended family is a more preferable one.