Advantages and disadvantages of solar energy

Solar energy as a renewable source, can be used as domestic household power. Some people and government consider burning of fossils produces carbon which is a major cause of global warming. While nuclear energy is considered as a possible source, its radioactive wastes emit radiations which are harmful. So, a further research has been carrying out for a possible solution to avoid all the adverse effects. Scientists found solar energy as a substitution to the remaining with more advantages and few drawbacks. First of all, the main advantage of solar energy is, its free and renewable. After the installation, as the energy is driven from the sun there is no additional put-on costs. There is no limit for the sunlight. Hence, the energy can be renewed. For instance, consider an electric water-heater it draws more electricity and increases the cost of power. If we replace it with a solar water-heater then after initial cost there is no limitation as it is a free source. In this way we can save money. Another advantage is, its pollution safe. There is neither burning of fossil fuels nor usage of radioactive materials. Therefore, it is an environment friendly and considered as green energy. The major drawback lies on the initial costs. The cost for installation of solar panels is high. And the maintenance of them is more. However, the maintenance is not so frequent. In conclusion, there are more advantages than the disadvantages. Hence, solar energy is considered as an efficient replacement with other resources.