Advantages and disadvantages of owning a car in an urban area

In my opinion, owning a car in an urban area has both advantages and disadvantages. There are some advantages to owning a car in an urban area. The main advantage of owning a car is it gives the freedom to travel. If you have a car then you don't need to be limited to fixed routes and timetables. The private car is a convenient mode of transportation. Having more comfortable seats, ventilation or other novel technologies help people to feel better than using other methods, like a bicycle or a public bus. You can listen to music, read books or newspapers and watch interesting films while you are in your owning car but those all seem to be impossible in public transport. This will increase more job opportunities because more workers will be involved in working in car companies or as drivers, reducing the unemployment rate. Moreover, in an urban areas it is much safer to be in your car, especially at night, than having to walk down a dark street to get to bus stop or train station. On the other hand, not only having these advantages but also there are some disadvantages to owning a car. First, a car is expensive. Requires additional costs to maintain and repair it are not cheap. Not all families can afford it. As the number of cars is increasing in the road so does the traffic jam. Perhaps the major disadvantage of cars, in general, is the huge damage they do to human health and to the environment. More cars mean more pollution. Environmental pollution is a serious issue today and at any cost, we must reduce the amount of pollution and if we consider it then owning a car is never a good idea. To sum up, Owning a car in an urban area can be both advantageous by giving someone freedom and disadvantageous by high expense and causing pollution.