advantages and disadvantages of organic food

Organic food products have recently become increasingly popular since people become more awared of what they eat. While there are certainly some drawbacks, I believe the benefits are greater as organic food is supposedly more benifical for our health than conventional ones. The main drawback of organic food is its exorbitant price since their manufacturing process is more labor-extensive. While conventional farmers can get the production process done easily and efficiently by using chemicals and pesticides, the organic farmers are not allowed to do so and have to hire more labor to fulfill farm jobs. In organic farms in my hometown, for instance, there are many workers hired to hand-weed the vegetable fields, clean up the polluted water and create bio-fertilizer. Therefore, labor cost has made the cost of organic products too high, which subsequently deters many people from consuming organic food. Nevertheless, the upside of organic food is greater since it do good to humans’ health. In fact, agricultural chemicals and food preservatives are allegedly the main culprit of many of our illnesses such as cancer, cardiac diseases. Therefore, organic food can improve our health due to its chemically restricted production process. For example, in European countries, where governments have recently supported organic products, a decrease in the rate of cancer is witnessed. Europe is a salient example for that the positive impact of organic products on health is considerable. In conclusion, for the reasons outlined above, I belive the great benefits of organic food to health completely outweight its financial drawbacks.