Advantages and disadvantages of mental toughness in life

Mental Toughness is a real path to find yourself. It’s a combination of confidence, resilience, the curiosity and drive to grow yourself. Mental Toughness or MT is closely related to qualities such as perseverance, resilience and grit, however it is a broader concept. Many know resilience as being the ability to recover from setbacks. By its definition, resilience is reactive. Heraclitus, a philosopher born in the Persian Empire back in the fifth century BC, had it right when he wrote about men on the battlefield. “Out of every one hundred men, “ he wrote, “ten shouldn’t even be there, eighty are just targets, nine are the real fighters, and we are lucky to have them, for they make the battle. Ah but the one, one is a warrior… “ Mental toughness is a strength that can assist you in a plethora of ways. Mental strength gives you power to work hard and always move forward because you know how to deal with difficult situations and overcome them. We all possess mental toughness as a strength, just to different degrees. If you train yourself to be more mentally tough you will be able to reach your goals and become successful. Having Mental strength can help you to filter out unhelpful comments and advice, regulate emotions, it can also provide courage for you to face your fears. However, it’s a question of balance. Being too mentally tough can turn strengths into weaknesses. Scoring too highly on ‘Life control’ and ‘Emotional control’ can suggest you are strong but potentially too rigid with no flex when required. In my view, if we compare pros and cons of MT, it’s seems that MT has more positive aspects than negative ones. Nevertheless, we are all human beings and all of us have our installed potential in us. However, as Heraclitus wrote a person that want something really bad can become mentally tough, it depends on goal that we set in our minds.