Advantage and disadvantage of multiculturalism

Thanks to more widely open policies in economy and immigration of many countries, the 21st century has witnessed the surprisingly increasing formation of multicultural societies where a varying number of ethnic people stay together. It is my firm belief that the benefits of multiculturalism are more substantial than its drawbacks That said, there are a few disadvantages that should be addressed. Above all, discrimination would have been the main issue. Some groups of people feel that their races are the most superior one, therefore they would underestimate certain kinds of races. It causes annoyance for everyone. For example, 2 years ago, there were protests against racist people in America and some people were harmed because the protesters resisted the police. Secondly, there is always a debate about religious activities. Some groups might have extreme faith in their religions and would annoy other believers. One of the classic examples would be the debate of religion in Israel between the Jewish and the Palestinian, which have caused so many casualties. Despite the aforementioned drawbacks I would argue that the merits of multiculturalism are far greater than its demerits. First and foremost, multicultural societies make the city becomes alive and fascinating, as some sides of the city shown Asiatic cultures, while on the other side it shows Western civilizations. This situation makes the city becomes unique and would attract tourists from many parts of the world. As a result, it will boost the tourism industry, create a lot of employments and generate income tax for the governments. Another potential advantage is that people who live in a multi-cultural society have a better understanding of different cultures, religions, and lifestyles. This exposure makes them more tolerate, and they are less likely to get involved in social chaos and fights between tribes. Thus, a multi-cultural society in a country teaches people to respect different religions, traditions and beliefs Having considered a range of arguments, I have drawn the conclusion that although there are some disadvantages of multiculturalism, such as racism and religious discrimination, I believe that they are outweighed by the benefits it brings to the beauty of city and people’s understanding.