Added Sugar Tax and consequences

Did you know that one and a half billion adult were considered obese in 2008? (WHO) More than a decades later, that number has doubled. Added sugar in processed food is a major causes of obesity, which is set to become the biggest health crisis in developed countries in recent years. The solution is not difficult to see. We need to ensure people eat less sugar in their diets. Sugar is added to processed food during resulting in an increase in the number of people suffering from obesity and type II diabetes, which is much worse than naturally occurring sugars in fruit and vegetables or concentrated in natural sweeteners like honey. We need an added-sugar tax in this country because taxing sugar will reduce sales of fast food and because the money that we collect can help to healthcare. Added taxes will immediately reduce demand for added sugar and incentivize positive food choices. Taxes on cigarettes have been shown to reduce smoking rates in the US. In fact, every 10% increase in the price of cigarettes has led to a 4% decrease in cigarette sales (CDC). The same reductions in consumption can be expected once a tax on added sugar is put in place. Canada would not be the first to implement such a tax. Hungary levied a flat tax on food containing high levels of fat, sugar, and salt (Cheney). Denmark has implemented a tax of 2. 15 EUR on saturated fat. A sin tax on added sugar will help to pay for the crippling harm sugar causes on public health. The tax collected on processed foods with added sugar will help to pay for the negative effects added sugar in food has on the country’s health. People who eat a lot of sugar have a greater risk of heart disease, obesity, and type II diabetes. If people insist on eating food with added sugar, then they should pay extra for the additional burden they place our healthcare system. Sin taxes on food additives are not uncommon. Hungary put a tax on fat, sugar and salt in 2011 (Cheney). Denmark did the same on saturated fat later the same year (Danish). Some people claim that a tax on food additives will hurt the poorest segment of society the most by making food more expensive. Indeed, the poorest members of society will pay more for unhealthy food. However, the real burden on the poorest segment of society is ill health. Furthermore, taxes collected on food additives can be used to make healthier choices cheaper and more abundant, with subsidies on fruits, vegetables, and lean meat. In conclusion, a sugar tax is needed to discourage bad food choices and pay medical bill for sick people. I therefore recommend that citizens of this country write to their members of parliament and demand a tax be placed on poisonous additives in our food system. When enough people do that, the government of this country will be forced to act and we will live in a healthy happier society with a better food culture and lower healthcare costs.