according to the reading passage, some reasons mentioned to approve that removing dead trees are beneficial for both environment and economy, while in the listening section, lecturer stated some competing theories that approves those methods are not so good for environment.

according to the reading passage, some reasons mentioned to approve that removing dead trees are beneficial for both environment and economy, while in the listening section, lecturer stated some competing theories that approves those methods are not so good for environment. in the reading section, several ideas pointed out to indicate salvage logging(removing dead trees from forests) is beneficial to a damaged forest and to the economy. first, after a devastating fire if dead trees are not removed, they will take years to decompose, which is harmful to the environment. secondly, decaying wood is a suitable habitat for insects such as spruce bark beetle, which is detrimental for other trees and plants, so by removing rotting trees, this method helps minimize the danger of insect infestation. finally, trees have been damaged by natural disasters still can provide much wood for industries, besides, salvage logging create additional jobs for local residents. however, in the lecture, lecturer argued that salvage logging actually results in serious longer damage, and he mentioned some controversial theories. first, dead trees rapidly removement from forest does not necessarily good for environment, because it may cause shortage of the nutrients in the soil and may harm the soil. second, it is true that dead trees are habitat of some insects, but it does not mean that those insects are harmful for other trees. additionally, those trees are habitat not only for insects, but also for other animals such as birds. finally, economic benefits of salvage logging is s