a situation that I had to use a foreign language to communicate

I would like to start off by talking about a situation that I had to use a foreign language to communicate. A couple of years ago, since my parents were away, I had to stay at my aunt’s house for a few days. On the way to my aunt’s house, I immediately stumbled upon my foreign teacher who was teaching me English in school. Suddenly, he came up to me and asked for directions to a restaurant. Frankly speaking, I couldn’t comprehend what he wanted to ask since he spoke so quickly. Afterward, he had to slow down and utilize body language that I could understand and directed him to the restaurant. I opted to go with my teacher because the route was so difficult besides it was also close to my aunt’s house. I had always believed that my recollection was correct, then we became disoriented. So, we had to ask inhabitants nearby for instructions. I felt very ashamed because of my road blindness. There were so many reasons why despite the passage of time, I have still remembered this situation. Firstly, in BMT City, I’ve always been confident about my street knowledge, but it’s the first time I’ve been lost. Secondly, I have been learning English for a long time, but I haven’t had many opportunities to practice it with native speakers. To be honest, I used to think that all of those valuable efforts and time of learning English is in vain. This is also a chance for me to evaluate myself and realize the importance of English in society today. I’m quite aware that my English level is still abysmal. Therefore, I have splurged on learning English and circled IELTS. Whereby, I can probably enhance my English speaking abilities and realize a long-held ambition.